I need Tips from the Pros

Started by DBthal, Jul 01, 2023, 03:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DBthal

Just got in from a very nice sail.

However, sailing solo, I manage to get the jib sheets hung up on the tabernacle, horn cleats, blocks on the mast, cam cleats, etc, etc, etc; about 30% of the times I tack. And I need to tack a LOT in my little bay.

Are there any techniques to reduce the jib sheet snags?

Thanks!

Dan
Precision 165 "Simple Pleasure"
Sisu 22 "FogCutter"
Portage Pram "Tiny"

Brian N.

You cannot view this attachment.

Not the best picture, but you can see the jib sheet runs to the jib car on the cabin top then to the cam cleat. Does not seem to hang up or get snagged.
 BTW - I'm the old skinny guy in the back
Fair winds
Brian N.

Riggerdood

Dan, I'm no pro, but the best thing I've found to prevent that is management of the lazy sheet. During a tack, keep tension on both sheets until you have the new working sheet trimmed. Only keep enough tension on the new lazy sheet to keep it from flogging around, as that's usually what causes snags. Then take as much slack out of the new lazy sheet as possible without it pulling on the jib clew, give it a couple of wraps around the winch, and cleat it off ready for the next tack.

Hope this helps, and glad you had a nice sail!
1985 Rebel Spindrift 22 - Rum Line
1985 Achilles RIB - Achilles Last Stand

Shesaidno

Dan, on my P165 singlehanded, I get hang-ups too. I'm no pro either, but similar to Tim's suggestion, you could go one step further and hold the lazy sheet tight as you tack, keep it tight for a second after the main comes across. Basically the jib is backwinded for a quick moment, and when you loosen it, it should come across quickly and cleanly. For some tough hang-up spots, I use Dollar Tree athletic tape, not paper tape, pulled tight. Amazingly the tape stays on for a full season, but is easy to remove if you need to get to a fitting. 

DBthal

Brian, Tim, & Ron,