Replacing the braking winch on a Potter 19

Started by baobabcd, Jul 24, 2023, 01:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

baobabcd

Newbie here
Good evening and my apologies if I am posting an inappropriate subject or in an inappropriate place.
Just acquired a Potter 19 (1984 as far as I know)
BIG BIG problem :

First time out, winch cable to keel broke. Managed to raise keel with jack, straps elbow grease etc.
Managed to ''splice'' cable and now have a keel that can be raised with difficulty.
I suspect that, if not original winch, the present winch does not have a 'brake' and is difficult to use.
What I cannot figure out is how to remove the existing winch to troubleshoot or replace.
From a web search, cannot find pics or intructions on how to remove winch. Winch is installed inside the transom. Very difficult to reach the bolts/nuts retaining winch to transom.

Your assistance would be much appreciated.

BTW had a Potter 15 which was destroyed during a storm in September 2021. Felt like I had lost a child (almost)

With thanks BC from the Maritimes (Canada)
Present : Potter 19
Past : 420 (no jib), Wayfarer, Mistral 16, Potter 15, Siren 17

Bud

I have had my winch out. The tricky part is all the washers IM used as spacers. I didn't know about them and they all fell when the winch came out. I had to guess how many went on each bolt. I must have come close. I have been using it for years. Make sure you get a winch with breaking ability, and replace the cable with synthetic rope. I used Dynmee with no problems for almost 20 years.

Six Bells

Sailing: Montgomery 15

baobabcd

Thank you for the prompt replies.
My issue is : can't figure out how to remove the winch that is now on. Since the winch is mounted under the inside of the transom, can't see where the nuts are on the bolts. By touch, seems that part of the winch system intrudes on the access to the nuts.