News:

Welcome to the new TSBB Forum! --- TSBB Chat Room is here!

Main Menu

Calling All Engineers

Started by talbot, Apr 07, 2023, 06:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

talbot

I just put my boat in. Wondering what forces I'm actually dealing with when I raise the mast. I have no idea how to calculate that. My gin pole system may be overbuilt, or I may be a few ounces away from the thing falling on my head. Can anyone help?

Here is the diagram of my system, shown with the mast fully down and resting in its crutch. Blue indicates metal supports, red indicates lifting lines. The weight is calculated as 24' of Dwyer extrusion, plus 8mm Endura halyards, 5mm Dyneema rigging, airfoil spreaders, triplex AWG 16 boat cable, and miscellaneous shackles.

You cannot view this attachment.
Talbot Bielefeldt
Precision 21 "Starlight"
Fern Ridge Lake, Oregon

Riggerdood

I'm no engineer talbot, but I do know that those forces would be much lower if point A were higher on the mast, i.e. using/connecting to the headstay or jib halyard. I'm sure you have a good reason for A to be where it is tho ...
1985 Rebel Spindrift 22 - Rum Line
1985 Achilles RIB - Achilles Last Stand

Tom G P 21

Agree, us the jib halyard. Also is your stern mast support adjustable to raise the mast above the horizontal when you start?

talbot

Quote from: Riggerdood on Apr 07, 2023, 10:50 PM. . .forces would be much lower if point A were higher on the mast, i.e. using/connecting to the headstay or jib halyard. I'm sure you have a good reason for A to be where it is tho ...