Shroud and forestay tension

Started by Mike Rog, Nov 06, 2023, 08:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mike Rog

Evening All
New to sailing so I appreciatte your help
Purchased a used American Sail 14.6. , sailed a few times and all was good

I do need some advice on shroud and forestay tension
Any tips or advice on what to use as a gauge  Im not racing ,just dont want it to be too loose or too tight
So looking for some general guidelines

Thanks for your help
Take care
mike

Charles Brennan

Mike, The conventional method is to use a hideously expensive Loos gauge, which you indicated might be overkill for your application.  You can find on-line You-Tubes, where you get on one tack and check how loose the side shroud is and then get on the other tack and check how loose that side is.  The idea is, that you tighten up a little on each side progressively, until there is little slack on either tack.

As a musician, I simply tune by ear.
1) Get the hull level and the mast vertical, on the trailer.
2) Tighten up the shrouds until they just begin to "twang".
3) Get the same pitch of "twang" on each side.
4) Go up a minor third on each side.
5) The max you'd want to go, is a major fifth.
Even if you don't have much pitch, you can do: "Do Re Mi Fa" and use that as your guide; a pitch pipe might help.

On my 18-foot Windrose, going up a minor third from just barely tightened ("twang") puts the tension very close to proper tension specs when checked with a Loos gauge.

Hope this helps,
Charles Brennan

Mike Rog

Hey Charles
Thanks for getting back
Much appreciated

Listed below is the style of shroud adjuster that is on the 2 shrouds
"Viadana 316 Stainless Steel Rigging Shroud Stay Adjuster 120mm Channel Style". It adjusts in about 1/4"increments

The manufacture recommends using the 4th hole from the top on the adjusters that came factory installed

Can I use the 4th hole as the manufacture recommends and do the fine tuning with the turnbuckle on the forestay ?