Almost-A-SCAMP Progress Report #7A

Started by Charles Brennan, Jun 30, 2024, 09:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Charles Brennan

I'll admit it:
I'm a little apprehensive (OK! Scared!) :o of working with epoxy resins, since I have no experience with them.
As a result, I've been dragging my feet and doing all kinds of interim mini-projects, so that this project wouldn't COMPLETELY, stall out.  :P
Like lofting/printing out the skegs.
Same trick as before:   8)
Scan the outline off the prints and make a .jpg file.
Insert the .jpg file into a drawing program.
Keep scaling the image larger and larger, until the lofting dimension offsets match the ruler scale on the drawing program.
Save the file (immediately!).
Reposition the huge image to the printable area of the printer on the drawing program and print out a portion of the image, a page at a time.
Align the pages by lining up lofting lines from one page, to the other page.
Scotch tape it all together.
You cannot view this attachment.

Use spray adhesive to stick the taped-together pages onto some stiffer construction paper.
See?  EASY!!  ;D

Here's what they look like on the bottom of a hull (not mine, since I'm nowhere near this stage of progress).

Another project that's been making me nervous, is the centerboard pivot bushings inside the hull.   :-\
This step is fraught with myriad ways to screw up.
Royally. 
Get the holes slanted horizontally and the centerboard can bind up in the centerboard trunk and jam.
Get the holes slanted vertically and you have the same problem, PLUS it rattles inside the trunk on any given tack.
In the SCAMP Camps, they make the trunk and trunk doublers early on and drill all four holes in a stack on a drill press, to make sure everything is 90º
My hull came with the trunk already installed, but the holes were missing.
No actually, it looks like someone tried to put in the holes and got it wrong, realized their mistake and filled the erroneous hole with epoxy.